whl hockey
WHL Header

WHL Hockey

WE are currently looking for FANS & Bloggers to help us out with Western Hockey League coverage. Contact Us Today!

Are you a fan of the Western hockey league?

About The WHL – (From WHL.ca) – The Western Hockey League, originally referred to as the Western Canada Hockey League was formed in 1966. The 1966-67 inaugural season consisted of seven member clubs: Calgary Buffaloes; Edmonton Oil Kings; Estevan Bruins; Moose Jaw Canucks; Regina Pats; Saskatoon Blades and Weyburn Red Wings.

There were 4 “Founding Fathers” if you will: Scotty Munro, Bill Hunter, Jim Piggot, and Del Wilson.

Here’s some stuff you’ll want to know.

WHL FAQ’s – Guidelines

Age for the CHL is calculated from Jan. 1 to Dec. 31. Thus for the 2006-2007 Season anyone born in 1986 will be considered a 20 yr. old. Anyone born in 1990 is a 16 yr. old.

15yr. old restrictions

15 yr. olds are allowed to play a maximum of 5 games in the WHL, until their parent team is eliminated from the playoffs.

16 yr. old restrictions

Starting in 06-07 each team in the CHL will be allowed to carry a maximum of 4 16 year old players.

20 yr. old restrictions

WHL teams are allowed a maximum of three overage players.

On NWSportsBeat.com we cover

NorthWest Sports Beat