Washington Huskies Football

In terms of historical success, there’s no comparison between other college football teams in the Pacific Northwest and the Washington Huskies program.

The Huskies have done it all over the years, capturing two claimed national championships, seven Rose Bowl titles and 15 Pac-10 championships.

Washington Huskies Football

The Huskies have an all-time winning percentage above .600 and hold the NCAA Division-I record for the longest unbeaten streak at 63 games. It’s a true privilege to play or cheer for Washington.

University Of Washington Huskies Football Thru the Years

The Huskies have existed for pretty much as long as college football has, having commenced play in 1889. With a history that long and rich, it’s tough to single out one team or another when asked, “Which Huskies team is the best of all time?”

Was it the 1907-1917 incarnation under Gil Dobie that went unbeaten in 63 games? What about the 1960 version that won a national title after upsetting Minnesota in the Rose Bowl?

Jacque Robinson’s legs ran the 1984 Huskies to national glory. And then there were the 1990 and 1991 Washington teams that won back-to-back national championships; the 1990 status was shared but the 1991 team was unbeaten, led by eventual NFL star Mark Brunell.

Brunell is one of many Washington quarterbacks who went on to NFL success.

The Huskies also developed Pro Football Hall-of-Famer Warren Moon, Marques Tuiasasopo, Cody Pickett and, most recently, Jake Locker.

Other successful Washington alumni include Corey Dillon, Lawyer Milloy, Olin Kreutz and Tank Johnson.

The Washington Huskies are the standard for college football in the Northwest and that’s never going to change!

Follow our Editor "Q" on Twitter, and NWSB, 'Like' us on Facebook.
About Matt Larkin
North West Sports Beat

Sponsored Links


10 Articles To Your Inbox Daily! NWSB Daily Brew! Get It Now!

NWSportsBeat.com Newsletter
NorthWest Sports Beat