2012 Sounders FC end of season awards

And the winner is?

Taking a page out of my homie Alistair Corp’s book, I decided to do my very own version of an end of season awards piece featuring awards named after past Sounders stars.

I decided to pick players from the old NASL Sounders teams, as they just look so cool in those old football photos.

There are a handful of Sounders players that should win the real end of season awards, namely Michael Gspurning, Osvaldo Alonso, and Eddie Johnson, but just in case their names don’t get called, we’ve got them covered here at

Dave D’Errico Award – Rookie of the Year Award

As the very first player selected by the NASL version of the Sounders back in 1974, I thought it would be fitting to name the best newcomer after him.

There could be another award named after D’Errico as well, the US National Team Member Award, but I already have Eddie Johnson winning a different award.

D’Errico was the captain of the US Men’s National Team for a spell, he had 19 caps in three years for his home country.

Michael Gspurning practice

Michael Gspurning gets this years Kasey Keller Award (photo

Winner – Andy Rose

Andy Rose went from a seldom used mid fielder, to one of the more reliable bench players for Sigi Schmid, to back to a lesser role player at the end of the season.

Rose had 23 appearances, while getting into the starting lineup 11 times, and ended up with 1 goal and 1 assist on the year.

Dave Gillett Award – Most Beautiful Hair Award

Dave Gillett was a defender for the Sounders who came over to the States on loan from Scottish side Hibernian FC of the Scottish Premier League.

He spent the better part of six seasons on the Sounders roster, though he was loaned out to Caroline Hill for a portion of that time.

His hair will never be forgotten around these parts though, and neither will our winners.

Winner – Mauro Rosales

I had to come up with an award for Mauro Rosales, because frankly I have someone else as the MVP, though I think Rosales is deserving of it too. Just as Freddy Montero could be deserving of this award.

Nothing spelled fear in our opponents more than when Rosales was at full speed running up the flank with the ball.

His dark hair often fluttering in the wind behind him, and ending up in his face after one of his beautiful crosses.

Kasey Keller Award – Fan Favorite Award

Only one year removed from his spot in net, Kasey Keller should have been an extremely tough person to beat out for a new fan favorite.

But, the Sounders not only got their man in net, but also a Gnu fan favorite.

Winner – Michael Gspurning

It’s not easy taking over for a legend, but Michael Gspurning did it with ease, all the while making his new fans extremely happy he is on our side.

Clean sheet after clean sheet helped Gspurning to his way to the GAA lead in MLS this year, the first time a player not from the CONCACAF region has won that award.

Eddie Johnson

Eddie Johnson gets his own award named after him

Eddie Johnson Award – The Brick Head Award

This is yet another award I myself made up for this piece.

But it is without saying that the award, and the awards namesake are truly up for this one.

Winner – Eddie Johnson

EJ started out as the new kid in town, trying to get his career back on track. The Sounders gave up a couple fan favorites in order to get him, and boy did that gamble pay off.

Turmoil surrounded Johnson and fellow striker Freddy Montero for a portion of the season, but come the end, they were both neck and neck trying to get the teams scoring title.

The name of the award is for the way the Eddie Johnson scored most of his goals this year, by the header.

Peter Ward Award – MVP Award

Peter Ward was an English footballer who stared his career at Brighton and Hove Albion, before moving on to Nottingham Forrest and the U.S.

He came to Seattle on loan from Brighton, and spent two years in Seattle, as well as a call back to Brighton before returning to Seattle.

In 1982, he was named the NASL MVP, in a season in which he was third in scoring. In ’83, Ward went on to sign with our bitter rivals, the Vancouver Whitecaps.

Winner – Osvaldo Alonso

Of course Osvaldo Alonso is this teams MVP. Sure, our scoring may not be as high with Rosales out of the lineup, but our opponents scoring is always higher when Alonso is not in the lineup.

The best holding mid in all of MLS, Alonso doesn’t quit until the whistle blows, and yes, sometimes this results in a card or two.

In fact, it resulted in 8 for the year, including the double yellow in the 2nd leg of the playoffs against LA.

Never a man to turn down a shot, Alonso is most feared with his power and accuracy from distance. He ended up with 1 goal and 2 assists on the year.

Well there they are, the 2012 Seattle Sounders FC award winners.

It won’t be too long now until we are back in green, cheering the home town boys on in the quest for our first MLS Cup.


Follow our Editor "Q" on Twitter, and NWSB, 'Like' us on Facebook.
About Clinton Bell

NWSB Editor. Born and raised in Friday Harbor. Even though he makes his home in Mesa still bleeds Seattle Blue and Green. Mariners Seahawks Sounders till the day he dies! Bring back his Sonics! Connect with Clinton today!
Clinton On Twitter
NWSB Facebook FanPage
Clinton's NWSB Forum Profile
Subscribe To Clinton's Articles Via RSS On NWSB
Clinton's Sports Blog
Like Something I wrote? Hate it? Hit me back today I want to hear from you!

North West Sports Beat

Sponsored Links


10 Articles To Your Inbox Daily! NWSB Daily Brew! Get It Now! Newsletter
NorthWest Sports Beat