Oregon State Beavers Football

The Oregon State Beavers have been around and playing NCAA football at the highest level for just as long as their Oregon counterparts, the Ducks, existing for more than a century.

The Beavers have multiple conference titles to their name, not to mention an excellent bowl-game record, but they’re hungry to take the next step and contend for a national championship.

Oregon State Football

Oregon St Beavers Football Thru the Years

The Beavers came to be way back in 1893, winning their first game 62-0 when they were known as State Agricultural College. The Beavers were quiet in the first half of the 20th century but starting making noise in the 1950s and 1960s. Oregon State won conference titles in 1941, 1956, 1957 and 1964.

The Beavers also boasted Heisman Trophy winner Terry Baker in 1962. Baker is the only man to win the Heisman and play in the NCAA basketball Final Four in the same year.

As the new millennium arrived, the Beavers rose to prominence in the Pac-10 under coaches Dennis Erickson and Mike Riley. Their banner season came in 2000 when they finished 11-1, won the conference title, won the Fiesta Bowl over Notre Dame and finished No. 4 in the final poll. From 2003 to 2008, Oregon State appeared in five bowl games and won them all.

The Beavers’ rich tradition includes alumni like Derek Anderson, Nick Barnett, Steven Jackson, Chad Ochocinco and T.J. Houshmandzadeh.

Oregon State has flirted with major national success.

It’s time to start pushing Pac-12 rivals Oregon and Washington and Washington State to become the Pacific Northwest’s best college football team!

Follow our Editor "Q" on Twitter, and NWSB, 'Like' us on Facebook.
About Matt Larkin
North West Sports Beat

Sponsored Links


10 Articles To Your Inbox Daily! NWSB Daily Brew! Get It Now!

NWSportsBeat.com Newsletter
NorthWest Sports Beat